KIROLBET Baskonia Vitoria Gasteiz

KIROLBET Baskonia Vitoria Gasteiz 2018-19

(Provisional Roster)

No. Player Country
Forward 2.00 1998 More
Guard 1.91 1995
Forward 2.01 1992 More
Center 2.14 1992
Guard 1.90 1983 More
United States of America
Guard 1.93 1988 More
Center 2.11 1995
Guard 1.89 1989 More
Center 2.13 1993 More
Forward 2.03 1991 More
Forward 2.01 1993 More
  Head Coach Country     More
EuroLeague 2018-19
Accumulated Statistics - All phases
  Rebounds Blocks Fouls
Player G GS Min Pts 2FG 3FG FT O D T As St To Fv Ag Cm Rv PIR
Average Statistics - All phases
  Rebounds Blocks Fouls
Player G GS Min Pts 2FG 3FG FT O D T As St To Fv Ag Cm Rv PIR
Club info

Baskonia Vitoria Gasteiz had a tough task at hand in trying to match its fantastic 2015-16 season. The team changed its core of players and also its head coach, but still remained deep in the playoff zone for most of the regular season and ended up advancing to the next phase with a 17-13 record and seventh place. A four-game winning streak in December and another in March covered up for a negative run of six losses in seven games between Rounds 17 and 23. Baskonia clinched a playoff berth for the 10th time in 12 seasons, but there the team was swept by CSKA Moscow after three tough games. Adam Hanga was one of the team leaders and was chosen as the EuroLeague Best Defender by the league’s head coaches, and Baksonia showed, once again, its innate ability to sign talent that seemed to go under the radar for everybody else with names like Shane Larkin, Johannes Voigtmann and Rodrigue Beaubois playing major roles. The Basque team confirmed that it belongs among the European elite.


2017-18 EuroLeague 17-17 Playoffs
2016-17 EuroLeague 17-16 Playoffs
2015-16 EuroLeague 18-11 Semifinals
2014-15 EuroLeague 11-13 Top 16
2013-14 EuroLeague 11-13 Top 16
2012-13 EuroLeague 13-15 Playoffs
2011-12 EuroLeague 5-5 Regular Season
2010-11 EuroLeague 10-10 Playoffs
2009-10 EuroLeague 11-9 Playoffs
2008-09 EuroLeague 14-7 Playoffs
2007-08 EuroLeague 16-9 Semifinals
2006-07 EuroLeague 20-4 Semifinals
2005-06 EuroLeague 18-7 Semifinals
2004-05 EuroLeague 13-11 Runner-up
2003-04 EuroLeague 13-7 Top 16
2002-03 EuroLeague 11-9 Top 16
2001-02 EuroLeague 13-7 Top 16
2000-01 EuroLeague 15-7 Runner-up
TOTAL: 246-177

"Baskonia Character" is the motto that this club lives by and continues to strive for every season. Saski Baskonia was founded in 1959 and started playing in Spain's first division in the 1970s. The club's first trophy did not come until 1995, when Velimir Perasovic led the team to the Spanish Copa del Rey. Vitoria also reached the Saporta Cup finals in 1994 and 1995 and finally lifted that trophy in 1996 after downing PAOK Thessaloniki behind 31 points from Ramon Rivas. The club, then called Tau Ceramica, reached its first Spanish League finals in 1998 and added a second Copa del Rey title in 1999. The turn of the century led to instant success in the EuroLeague. Elmer Bennett and Victor Alexander led Tau to the 2000-01 EuroLeague playoff finals before losing to Kinder Bologna in a do-or-die Game 5. In 2002, with Dejan Tomasevic as its new star, Tau won the Copa del Rey and its first Spanish League championship. Luis Scola led Tau to Copa del Rey titles in 2004 and 2006 and the team did well in the EuroLeague too. Tau reached the Final Four in four consecutive seasons, from 2005 through 2008. In 2005, Tau upset favored host CSKA Moscow in the semifinals, but couldn't overcome defending champ Maccabi Elite Tel Aviv in the championship game. It proved to be the team’s last EuroLeague championship game, as Maccabi, Panathinaikos Athens and CSKA stopped Tau in the semifinals from 2006 to 2008. The club bounced back to win its second Spanish League title in 2008 by downing Barcelona in the finals behind an outstanding Pete Mickeal. Tau added another Copa del Rey in 2009 before changing its name to Caja Laboral – which became Laboral Kutxa late in the 2012-13 season. In 2010, Laboral conquered a third Spanish League championship by sweeping Barcelona on a memorable series-winning three-point play by Fernando San Emeterio. There have not been any more titles since, but the fact that Fernando Buesa Arena was expanded to 15,504 seats and the many initiatives the club continues to put into practice show that Baskonia is always moving forward. The club reached the EuroLeague playoffs in 2011 and 2012 and reached the Top 16 14 times in 15 years. After a stellar 2015-16 season that marked its return to the Final Four, Baskonia armed a new team starting with Coach Sito Alonso and new faces that would lead the group to another strong season: Shane Larkin, Rodrigue Beaubois and Johannes Voigtmann, plus Adam Hanga, who was chosen as the Best Defender Trophy winner by coaches. The team managed to rack up to 17 wins in the new regular season format, which was good enough for a playoff ticket. Baskonia was swept by CSKA in three games, but that just adds more fuel to the fire that will surely keep burning this season.

Trophy Case

Saporta Cup: 1996
Spanish National League: 2002, 2008, 2010
Spanish National Cup "Copa del Rey": 1995, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2009
Spanish Supercup "Supercopa": 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
Jose Antonio Querejeta
Club Address:
Fernando Buesa Arena Ctra. Zurbano S/N 01013 Vitoria - Spain
Ctra. Zurbano s/n, 01013 Vitoria