Galatasaray Medical Park
4 SHIPP, JOSHUA USA Forward 1.96 1986
5 LAKOVIC, JAKA Slovenia Guard 1.86 1978
7 KOKSAL, HUSEYIN Turkey Guard 1.95 1991
8 TOPALOGLU, CANER Turkey Forward 2.00 1985
9 SHUMPERT, PRESTON USA Forward 1.98 1979
11 ACIK, TUTKU Turkey Guard 1.94 1980
12 ANDRIC, LUKSA Croatia Center 2.10 1985
13 PACHULIA, ZAZA Georgia Center 2.10 1984
14 YILDIRIM, HALUK Turkey Forward 2.00 1972
16 BUKER, EVREN Turkey Guard 1.94 1985
17 SANLI, SERTAC Turkey Center 2.09 1991
19 ALDEMIR, FURKAN Turkey Forward 2.07 1991
22 GORDON, JAMON USA Guard 1.91 1984
25 SONGAILA, DARIUS Lithuania Forward 2.06 1978
33 ARSLAN, ENDER Turkey Guard 1.88 1983
41 OZER, CEVHER Turkey Forward 2.05 1983
42 SAVOVIC, BORIS Serbia Center 2.06 1987
 Head Coach    
  MAHMUTI, OKTAY Turkey    

Team latest news

Galatasaray's leader, Arroyo, out for Game 2

After battling admirably through an injury-plagued season all the way to the Turkish Airlines Euroleague Playoffs, Galatasaray Liv Hospital now needs to find a way to overcome an injury to its leader. Point guard Carlos Arroyo, who leads the team in points, assists, performance index rating, three-pointers and minutes played, injured his left ankle in 88-61 Game 1 loss against FC Barcelona on Tuesday.

Club info
Galatasaray Liv Hospital Istanbul has reestablished itself as a Turkish basketball superpower in recent seasons. After winning the Turkish League title last season for the first time in 23 seasons, the club will play in the Turkish Airlines Euroleague this year for the second time in three seasons. Galatasaray can boast that it is the club that first introduced basketball to Turkey and at one point won 15 national titles in 43 years. Founded in 1905, Galatasaray is one of the oldest sports clubs in the world and takes its name from Galatasaray Lycee, a school that dates back to 1481. A teacher at the school brought basketball to Turkey in 1911. The club's basketball section opened in the early 1930s and found instant success, winning three consecutive Istanbul League titles from 1933 to 1936. Once World War II ended, Galatasaray continued dominating Turkish basketball with 16 Istanbul League titles and 11 Turkish championship trophies between 1940 and 1966. The club also competed well continentally, reaching the Euroleague eighthfinals in 1961 and 1964. Another Turkish League title in 1969 was followed by a 15-year drought until Galatasaray had its last run of dominance with three more national titles between 1985 and 1990. Galatasaray made eight consecutive Korac Cup appearances between 1993 and 2001, the highlight of with was reaching the eighthfinals in 2000. Its current resurgence started in 2008, when Galatasaray showed it was no average Eurocup newcomer. With a memorable shot by Cuneyt Erden, Galatasaray reached the Eurocup semifinals before losing against eventual champion DKV Joventut. In 2010-11, Galatasaray reached the Turkish League finals, but lost against Fenerbahce Ulker. Galatasaray made its return to the Euroleague in 2011-12 by dancing through the qualifying rounds. With Jamon Lucas and Jaka Lakovic among its top performers, Galatasaray got all the way to the Top 16 - beating both Euroleague finalists, CSKA Moscow and Olympiacos Piraeus, in the process. Back home, Galatasaray won the Turkish League regular season but Besiktas Milangaz stood on its way to success in the semifinals. Last season Galatasaray missed out on the Eurocup quarterfinals on a tiebreaker, but once again dominated the Turkish League. Galatasaray was the Turkish Cup runner-up and after placing atop the table with just three regular season losses, the club lost only once in 10 postseason games as it defeated Banvit BK in the finals to claim the championship. This season expect to see a bigger and stronger Galatasaray team that looks to continue its growth as a European powerhouse.
Trophy Case
Turkish National Championship: 1946-47, 1947-48, 1948-49, 1949-50, 1952-53, 1954-55, 1955-56, 1959-60, 1962-63, 1963-64, 1965-66, 1968-69, 1984-85, 1985-86, 1989-90, 2012-13
Turkish National Cup: 1970, 1972, 1995
Turkish President Cup: 2011
President Unal Aysal
Address Ali Semi Yen Spor Kompleksi Turk Telekom ArenaHuzur M.Seyrantepe
34415 Istanbul - Turkey
10, Yil Caddesi Zeytinburnu, 34760 Istanbul
Tel. +902 122 732 850
Fax +902 122 732 858