Panathinaikos Athens
- APOSTOLIDIS, GEORGIOS Greece Forward 1.97 1984
5 CHARALAMPOPOULOS, V. Greece Forward 2.02 1997
6 BRAMOS, MICHAEL Greece Guard 1.96 1987
7 CURRY, RAMEL USA Guard 1.91 1980
8 BATISTE, MIKE USA Forward 2.04 1977
9 FOTSIS, ANTONIS Greece Forward 2.09 1981
10 UKIC, ROKO Croatia Guard 1.96 1984
11 LASME, STEPHANE Gabon Forward 2.03 1982
12 MAVROKEFALIDIS, LOUKAS Greece Center 2.10 1984
13 DIAMANTIDIS, DIMITRIS Greece Guard 1.96 1980
14 GIST, JAMES USA Forward 2.06 1986
15 PAPPAS, NIKOS Greece Guard 1.94 1990
16 GIANKOVITS, VLANTIMIR Greece Forward 2.02 1990
17 SHANG, PING China Forward 2.05 1984
18 MACIULIS, JONAS Lithuania Forward 1.98 1985
19 WRIGHT, ZACH USA Guard 1.88 1985
 Head Coach    
One of the modern heavyweights of basketball, Panathinaikos Athens navigated major changes to record another successful season now sets its sights on adding more silverware to its already filled trophy room. The Greens overcame major changes on the bench and the roster last summer; new-look Panathinaikos proved its status among European elite. After a rough start, the Greens turned into a 2012-13 Euroleague title contender late in the season, before being ousted in a classic five-game playoff series against FC Barcelona Regal. However, Panathinaikos went all the way at home, winning the Greek league-and-cup double, both against its archrival and reigning Turkish Airlines Euroleague champion Olympiacos Piraeus. Moreover, the Greens took the finals series 3-0! Panathinaikos has long been a superpower in Greek sports and first took charge of the local basketball leagues with 12 domestic titles over a 17-year stretch between 1967 and 1984. Despite a dry period in the late 1980s and early 1990s, Panathinaikos bounced back to become a top team in European basketball. In 1996, legends Panagiotis Giannakis, Dominique Wilkins and Fragiskos Alvertis came together and secured the first Euroleague title by a Greek team. In 2000 Panathinaikos lifted its second Euroleague trophy in Thessaloniki with a win over Maccabi Tel Aviv. The Greens won it all again in 2002 by upsetting Virtus in Bologna. At home in Greece, its trophy collecting continued with a new string of domestic crowns. Panathinaikos went back to the Euroleague Final Four in Moscow 2005, but eventual champ Maccabi stood in its way. The team was stopped one win short of the 2006 Final Four, but it all clicked in the 2006-07 campaign, which would prove to be one for the history books as Panathinaikos stormed into Final Four, held at the club's home court in Athens, and knocked off defending champ CSKA Moscow 93-91 in an instant classic. Two years later the Greens put their name on the title again in Berlin with Vassilis Spanoulis earning Final Four MVP honors in one of the most exciting finals in basketball history. In a 2010-11 season to remember, Euroleague MVP and Final Four MVP Dimitris Diamantidis shined as the Greens turned away defending champ Regal FC Barcelona in the playoffs, then downed Maccabi Electra in Barcelona in the Euroleague title game and won another Greek championship by seeing off Olympiacos in the finals. In 2011-12, Panathinaikos won the Greek Cup for the 13th time, but lost a tough Turkish Airlines Euroleague semifinal and saw its streak of nine Greek League championships come to an end. It also marked an end to an era with Coach Zeljko Obradovic, who stepped down in the summer of 2012 after 13 remarkable seasons, but there was no lowering of expectations. Former Panathinaikos player Argiris Pedoulakis took charge and guided the club to another strong season. The Greens will be looking to fight for Greek and Euroleague glory again this season, hoping to add to their six continental crowns and 11 Final Four appearances, backed by tens of thousands of diehard fans who follow the team through thick and thin, always motivated to spur their team to greatness.
Trophy Case
Euroleague: 1996, 2000, 2002, 2007, 2009, 2011
Intercontinental Cup: 1996
Greek National League: 1945-46, 1946-47, 1949-50, 1950-51, 1953-54, 1960-61, 1961-62, 1966-67, 1968-69, 1970-71, 1971-72, 1972-73, 1973-74, 1974-75, 1976-77, 1979-80, 1980-81, 1981-82, 1983-84, 1997-98, 1998-99, 1999-00, 2000-01, 2002-03, 2003-04, 2004-05, 2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2012-13
Greek National Cup: 1979, 1982, 1983, 1986, 1993, 1996, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2012, 2013, 2014
President Dimitris Gianakopoulos
Address 14 Km, National Road Athinon-Lamias, 14564 Kifissia, Athens - Greece
37 Kifisias Avenue, 15123 Marousi
Tel. +30 210 610 7160 / 1
Fax +30 210 610 5751