Galatasaray Odeabank Istanbul
EuroCup 2017-18
Accumulated Statistics - All phases
  Rebounds Blocks Fouls
Player G GS Min Pts 2FG 3FG FT O D T As St To Fv Ag Cm Rv PIR
Average Statistics - All phases
  Rebounds Blocks Fouls
Player G GS Min Pts 2FG 3FG FT O D T As St To Fv Ag Cm Rv PIR
Club info

Galatasaray Odeabank Istanbul returns to the 7DAYS EuroCup after a season in the Turkish Airlines EuroLeague. As a previous EuroCup champ, Galatasaray earned the right to play in the top competition, but it found a rough road full of obstacles that started with five straight losses. After that and a few player changes, Coach Ergin Ataman relied on a core of players led by captain Sinan Guler and Vladimir Micov to try to get the team back to its feet. Galatasaray certainly improved and started adding wins, but a four-game losing streak further damaged its chances and moved the team away from the playoff spots. However, Galatasaray collected some prestigious wins in the process at Olympiacos Piraeus and FC Barcelona Lassa and at home against Real Madrid before finishing 12th in the standings. Now, Galatasaray returns to the competition it won in 2016 for its first continental trophy ever. With rejuvenated spirits and new names in the roster, the team from Istanbul will try to recapture the title in a EuroCup that will be more competitive than ever.


2016-17 EuroLeague 11-19 Regular Season
2014-15 EuroLeague 6-18 Top 16
2013-14 EuroLeague 13-14 Playoffs
2011-12 EuroLeague 7-9 Top 16
TOTAL: 37-60


2015-16 EuroCup 15-9 Champion
2012-13 EuroCup 7-5 Last 16
2010-11 EuroCup 6-6 Last 16
2009-10 EuroCup 3-9 Last 16
2007-08 ULEB Cup 10-6-1 Final
TOTAL: 41-35-1

Founded in 1905, Galatasaray is one of the oldest sports clubs in the world and takes its name from Galatasaray Lycee, a school that dates back to 1481. A teacher at the school brought basketball to Turkey in 1911. The club's basketball section opened in the early 1930s and found instant success with three consecutive Istanbul League titles from 1933 to 1936. Once World War II ended, Galatasaray continued dominating Turkish basketball with 16 Istanbul League titles and 11 Turkish championship trophies between 1940 and 1966. The club also competed well continentally, reaching the EuroLeague eighthfinals in 1961 and 1964. Another Turkish League title in 1969 was followed by a 15-year drought until Galatasaray had its last run of dominance with three more national titles between 1985 and 1990. Galatasaray made eight consecutive Korac Cup appearances between 1993 and 2001, but its current resurgence started in 2008, when Galatasaray reached the ULEB Cup semifinals. Three years later, Galatasaray reached the Turkish League finals and earned its way to the 2011-12 Euroleague by dancing through the qualifying rounds. With Jamon Gordon and Jaka Lakovic among its top performers, Galatasaray got all the way to the Top 16 – beating both Euroleague finalists, CSKA Moscow and Olympiacos Piraeus in the process. Back home that same season, Galatasaray won the Turkish League regular season before losing in the playoff semifinals. A year later, Galatasaray reached the Turkish Cup final and finished atop the table with just three regular season losses and went on to lose only once in 10 postseason games as it defeated Banvit Bandirma in the playoff finals to claim the 2013 Turkish championship. Galatasaray's star continued to shine next the season in the EuroLeague. Led by Carlos Arroyo and head coach Ergin Ataman, Galatasaray advanced to the EuroLeague playoffs for the first time in club history before being ousted by FC Barcelona. The following season, Galatasaray wrote its name in the history books by winning the 7DAYS EuroCup, the first continental trophy for the club. That success earned the team a EuroLeague ticket, but a tough start with five consecutive losses marked the fate of Galatasaray, which ended 12th in the standings with an 11-19 record. Now back in the EuroCup, Galatasaray seeks glory again.

Trophy Case

Eurocup: 2016
Turkish National League: 1968-69, 1984-85, 1985-86, 1989-90, 2012-13
Turkish Basketball Championship: 1946-47, 1947-48, 1948-49, 1949-50, 1952-53, 1954-55, 1955-56, 1959-60, 1962-63, 1963-64, 1965-66
Turkish National Cup: 1970, 1972, 1995
Turkish President's Cup: 1985, 2011
Dursun Ozbek
Club Address:
Ali Semi Yen Spor Kompleksi Turk Telekom ArenaHuzur M.Seyrantepe
34415 Istanbul - Turkey
10, Yil Caddesi Zeytinburnu, 34760 Istanbul