Adriatic League final four, final: April 25, 2010
April 25, 2010
Partizan champ Adriatic League 2009-10 (photo one of the most amazing finishes at any level this season, Partizan won its fourth consecutive Adriatic League title by edging Cibona 74-75 in overtime in front of a sellout crowd in Zagreb, Croatia on Sunday. Dusan Kecman became the game hero with a midcourt buzzer-beating three-pointer that allowed Partizan to lift the trophy in unbelievable fashion. Cibona trailed 68-72 with seconds left but back-to-back triples by Marko Tomas and Bojan Bogdanovic gave their team a 74-72 edge with 0.6 seconds left, but Kecman stole the show right when it mattered. Aleks Maric led the winners with 14 points and 11 rebounds. Lawrence Roberts added 13 points and 14 rebounds while Aleksandar Rasic and Petar Bozic each had 11 points for Partizan. Marko Tomas and Jamont Gordon led Cibona with 31 points apiece. Partizan led for the best part of the fourth quarter but Gordon allowed Cibona to force overtime, 60-60. Roberts downed 4-of-6 free throws to give Partizan a 68-72 lead late in the extra period and even when Cibona regained the lead, Kecman sank a shot that will go down in history as one of the most incredible ones in Adriatic League history.

Dusan Kecman - PartizanThree-pointers by Jan Vesely and Bozic gave Partizan an early 9-12 lead. Cibona relied on Gordon and Tomas, that combined for 29 points in the first half. They didn't find much help around, however, as Partizan managed to stay in the game and lead for the best part of this half. Free throws by Gordon tied it at 31-31 as both teams headed back to the locker rooms. Tomas stayed on fire after the break but a triple by Dusan Kecman and a layup-plus-foul by Vesely gave Partizan a 36-41 edge midway through the third quarter. Cibona rallied and Tomas struck from downtown for a 44-44 tie after 30 minutes. A three-pointer by Gordon tied it again, 54-54, but back-to-back dunks by Roberts and Maric gave Partizan a 54-58 edge with 4 minutes left. Gordon and Bogdanovic managed to tie the game, 60-60, already in the final minute. Kecman and Tomas traded misses from downtown to send the game to overtime. A three-point play by Maric and free throws by Roberts gave Partizan a 62-65 edge. Gordon followed a layup with foul shots but Rasic buried a key triple for a 66-68 score. Tomas tied it with free throws and Bogdanovic missed the go-ahead three-pointer. Roberts hit 4-of-6 foul shots and just when the outcome seemed clear, back-to-back triples by Tomas and Bogdanovic allowed Cibona to regain the lead, 74-72, with 0.6 seconds left. Partizan had the game's final possession and Kecman banked in the game-winning triple from midcourt right at the buzzer to make his team win another Adriatic League title in epic fashion!

Final Four, Final
Record Team Game 1
0 Cibona (1) 74
1 Partizan (2) 75
Adriatic League Champion 2009-10: Partizan Belgrade

Final Four games
Semifinal A Cibona vs. Union Olimpija 78-73 April 23
Semifinal B Partizan vs. Hemofarm Stada 72-67 April 23
Final Cibona vs. Partizan 74-75 OT April 25
PrintPrint Send to a FriendSend to a Friend ShareShare