Israeli State Cup final: February 7, 2013
February 7, 2013
Maccabi Electra wins Israeli State Cup for the 40th time (Photo BSL)Maccabi Electra Tel Aviv became the Israeli State Cup winner for the 40th time after beating Maccabi Haifa 76-68 in the final at Nokia Arena. Interim team captain Shawn James was joined by injured captain Lior Eliyahu and Guy Pnini to raise the cup at center court as legions of yellow fans cheered on. Devin Smith was named final MVP after scoring 13 points and playing tremendous defense, especially down the stretch. It seemed to be Maccabi’s game early as Coach David Blatt’s team raced out to an 18-10 lead, which would have been larger if not for some great plays by Gal Mekel. The Haifa guard finished the first quarter with 14 points, almost single-handedly keeping his team alive at 25-18 through 10 minutes. Nik Caner-Medley and Moran Roth gave Maccabi a double-digit lead early in the second quarter and Pnini later sank a three to make it 42-28 – what would prove to be the largest lead in the game. Pat Calathes nailed a triple to bring Haifa within 42-31 at the break. Maccabi got a little sloppy in the third quarter and Haifa took advantage through Donta Smith and Corey Carr to close within 46-43. David Logan ended Maccabi’s slump with a triple, but Mekel matched him to keep it close through three quarters, 52-48. James Thomas tied the game from the line at 55-55 early in the fourth quarter. With Donta Smith, Mekel and Thomas leading the way, Haifa barreled to a 57-61 lead as the Haifa fan base went wild. Shawn James answered with a big dunk before Devin Smith tied the game with a jumper midway through the fourth quarter. With the pressure mounting, Haifa struggled to score, while Yogev Ohayon put Maccabi back in front and Devin Smith buried a critical triple. Devin Smith also stood out with his defense to protect the lead. Haifa remained within 4 with two minutes left, but its offensive woes persisted and Maccabi was able to hold on for the win. Ricky Hickman led all Maccabi scorers with 15 points, Ohayon added 12 and Pnini 10. Mekel finished with 28 points, Donta Smith scored 15, Calathes 14 and Thomas tallied 7 points and 13 rebounds for Haifa.

Israeli Cup, "State Cup" in Tel Aviv, February 5-7, 2013

Maccabi Ashdod
Maccabi Electra
Maccabi Electra (Champion)
Maccabi Haifa
Hapoel Migdal Jerusalem
Maccabi Haifa

Cup Games
Maccabi Ashdod vs. Maccabi Electra
Feb. 5
Hapoel Migdal Jerusalem vs. Maccabi Haifa
Feb. 5
Maccabi Electra vs. Maccabi Haifa
Feb. 7
PrintPrint Send to a FriendSend to a Friend ShareShare
Israeli League 2012-13
Final Playoffs:
Game 1
Semifinals Playoffs:
Game 5
Game 1 | Game 2 | Game 3 | Game 4
Quarterfinals Playoffs:
Game 5
Game 1 | Game 2 | Game 3 | Game 4
Regular Season:
Game 25 | Game 26 | Game 27
Game 21 | Game 22 | Game 23 | Game 24
Game 17 | Game 18 | Game 19 | Game 20
Game 13 | Game 14 | Game 15 | Game 16
Game 9 | Game 10 | Game 11 | Game 12
Game 5 | Game 6 | Game 7 | Game 8
Game 1 | Game 2 | Game 3 | Game 4
Semifinals | Final
Israeli League Season Archive
2011-12 | 2010-11 | 2009-10 | 2008-09
2007-08 | 2006-07