Facts of the champions: Olympiacos Piraeus
May 13, 2012
Olympiacos Basketball

...Olympiacos has just won its second Euroleague title! The Reds won its first Euroleague title in 1997 – and it did again, 15 years later! Coach Ivkovic now has the longest gap between Euroleague titles at 15 years. The longest gap to date was the legendary Alexander Gomelsky (ASK Riga, 1960 – CSKA Moscow, 1971). age 68 and a half, Ivkovic can become the oldest coach to lead a team to a Euroleague title!

...Vassilis Spanoulis has joined a select group of players to be chosen as Final Four MVPs multiple times! He was previously chosen as the Final Four MVP in 2009. Only Toni Kukoc (Split 1990, 1991; Benetton 1993), Dejan Bodiroga (Panathinaikos 2002, Barcelona 2003) and Dimitris Diamantidis (Panathinaikos 2007, 2011) had earned Final Four MVP honors multiple times before him.

...Spanoulis stays undefeated in the Final Four! He got his fourth consecutive win at the event in as many games!

...Spanoulis and Lazaros Papadopoulos have just become the second and third players to win the Euroleague with Panathinaikos and Olympiacos! Dimitris Papanikolaou was the only player to have done so (Olympiacos 1997; Panathinaikos 2005, 2007). Papadopoulos won the Euroleague with Panathinaikos in 2002 and Spanoulis did it in 2009.

...Martynas Gecevicius has just become the sixth player to win the Euroleague and the Eurocup! Gecevicius helped Lietuvos Rytas to win the Eurocup in 2009 – and just became a Euroleague champion with Olympiacos! Lazaros Papadopoulos, Antonis Fotsis, Robertas Javtokas, Dejan Tomasevic and Ricky Rubio won the Euroleague and the Eurocup titles before him.

...Pero Antic has become the first player from FYROM to win the Euroleague title since Petar Naumoski did it with Split in 1990 and 1991!
PrintPrint SendSend ShareShare

Final Four schedule
Friday, May 11, 17:00 CET
CSKA Moscow 66-64 Panathinaikos

Friday, May 11, 20:00 CET
Olympiacos Piraeus 68-64 FC Barcelona Regal

Sunday, May 13, 17:00 CET
Panathinaikos 69-74 FC Barcelona Regal

Sunday, May 13, 20:00 CET
CSKA Moscow 61-62 Olympiacos Piraeus

Aito analyzes the four teams

2012 Final Four Fan Guide