Fenerbahce Istanbul : Facts of the champions!

May 21, 2017 by Euroleague.net Print
Fenerbahce Istanbul : Facts of the champions!

...Fenerbahce Istanbul has just become the first Turkish club to win the competition! Fenerbahce reached the EuroLeague championship game last season, which is the best result to date by a Turkish club, until tonight! Congratulations!

...head coach Zeljko Obradovic has just won his ninth EuroLeague title! Obradovic has previously won eight EuroLeague titles (Partizan Belgrade 1992, Joventut Badalona 1994, Real Madrid 1995, Panathinaikos Athens 2000, 2002, 2007, 2009, 2011), which already was more than any participant since the competition began in 1958. His ninth title ties him with Real Madrid, the winningest club in EuroLeague history!

...Obradovic won 9 titles in 11 Championship Gamse – more than any other coach in EuroLeague history? He played a Championship Game each with Partizan, Joventut and Madrid, six with Panathinaikos and this is his second one with Fenerbahce. He only lost the 2001 SuproLeague final with Panathinaikos and the 2016 EuroLeague Championship Game with Fenerbahce.

...Kostas Sloukas and Pero Antic have just won their third Euroleague title! Sloukas and Antic were teammates on the Olympiacos Piraeus squad that won consecutive EuroLeague titles in 2012 and 2013. And they won it again together with Fenerbahce just now!

...Jan Vesely is now the third Czech player to win the EuroLeague title! Jiri Zidek (Zalgiris, 1999) and Lubos Barton (Barcelona, 2010) were the first two to lift the EuroLeague trophy.

...Luigi Datome is now the first Italian-born player to win the EuroLeague in seven years! Gianluca Basile was the last Italian player to lift the trophy, with Regal FC Barcelona in 2010.

...the first - and to date only – Turkish player to win the EuroLeague was Ibrahim Kutluay with Panathinaikos in 2002. Baris Hersek, Melih Mahmutoglou, Egehan Arna, Berk Ugurlu, Bobby Dixon and Ahmet Duverioglu have just joined him as EuroLeague champion!

Fenerbahce is the seven different EuroLeague team to win the competition in the last eight years! Since 2010, FC Barcelona, Panathinaikos, Olympiacos, Maccabi Tel Aviv, Real Madrid and CSKA Moscow lifted the EuroLeague trophy.