FC Barcelona legend: Juan Antonio San Epifanio
May 2, 2013
A superb scorer with an outstanding work ethic, Juan Antonio San Epifanio, or "Epi", is among the most beloved players in Barcelona history and one of the very best. In fact, he was chosen by Euroleague Basketball as one of the 50 greatest contributors to European club competitions in 2008. Epi joined Barcelona's first team in 1977 and remained there for 18 straight seasons. He was widely considered one of the best players of the 1980s and became a Spanish basketball icon in that time. Epi helped Barcelona, the only club of his career, to seven Spanish League titles and 10 Copa del Rey trophies. He also led Barcelona to its first three continental trophies. He scored 18 points to help beat Zalgiris Kaunas for the 1984 Saporta Cup title. Barcelona successfully defended the Saporta Cup in 1985, against Scavolini Pesaro, as Epi poured in 20 points. In 1987, he led Barcelona to the Korac Cup title, scoring 53 points in the two-game finals. Even though the Euroleague title is absent from his roll of honors, Epi did reach the competition's title game three times. He also played more games for the Spanish national team, 239, than anyone in history, winning the silver medal at the 1984 Olympics in Los Angeles and a pair of Eurobasket medals, silver in 1983 and bronze in 1991. At the end of his legendary career, Epi became the first Barcelona player to have his jersey retired. His No. 15 hangs proudly at Palau Blaugrana today.

Juan Antonio San Epifanio

Moments in time

1985: The first European title

Barcelona lost the Euroleague final in 1984 but bounced back by winning the 1985 Cup Winners' Cup, downing Zalgiris 77-73 in the title game. Chicho Sibilio paced the winners with 29 points and Juan Antonio San Epifanio added 18.

1987: Epi leads Barcelona to new crown

Barcelona grabbed its third European title in as many years by sweeping Limoges CSP in the 1987 Korac Cup finals. Juan Antonio San Epifanio totalled 53 points in both games. "Epi" had led Barcelona to a new continental trophy.

1999: An epic comeback

Barcelona had to rally from a 16-point deficit in Game 2 of the two-way Korac Cup finals. A great crowd at Palau Blaugrana helped Barcelona to thrash Estudiantes 97-70 to win the title behind 18 points from Efthymis Rentzias and Sasha Djordjevic.

2003: Bodiroga brings it home

Almost 20 years after the first of five previous losing attempts in the final game, Barcelona seized the 2003 Euroleague crown at home with a 76-65 victory over Benetton Treviso. Dejan Bodiroga was chosen as the 2003 Final Four MVP.

2010: Navarro takes over in Paris

FC Barcelona downed Olympiacos 86-68 in the 2010 Euroleague final to win its second Euroleague crown. Juan Carlos Navarro, the only remaining player from Barcelona’s 2003 title-winning squad, had 21 points and was named Final Four MVP.
PrintPrint SendSend ShareShare