Real Madrid, Facts of the Champions!

May 17, 2015 by Print
Real Madrid, Facts of the Champions!

Real Madrid just won its ninth Euroleague title and it leads the all-time standings Madrid won the competition in 1964, 1965, 1967, 1968, 1974, 1978, 1980, 1995 – and now 2015!

Real Madrid just lifted its 15th continental trophy! Added to its nine Euroleague titles, Madrid won four Saporta Cups, one Korac Cup and a ULEB Cup.

Felipe Reyes and Rudy Fernandez have joined a select group players to win both the Euroleague and the Eurocup titles. Reyes lifted the then-called ULEB Cup trophy with Madrid in 2007 and Fernandez won that competition with Joventut Badalona in 2008. The list includes another Spanish player - Ricky Rubio (FC Barcelona 2010; Joventut 2008).

Reyes and Fernandez joined an elite group of 22 players that have won the Euroleague, EuroBasket and World Championship titles. There is only one player on the list not hailing from the former Soviet Union or former Yugoslavia: Juan Carlos Navarro. The list includes all-time greats Gennadiy Volnov, Arvydas Sabonis, Drazen Petrovic and Toni Kukoc.

Salah Mejri became the first Tunisian player ever to win the Euroleague.

At age 35, Andres Nocioni became the third oldest player to win the Final Four MVP award! Only Bob McAdoo of Milan (1988) and Dominique Wilkins of Panathinaikos (1996), who won it at 36, were ahead of him. He was the senior-most player at this Final Four!

Reyes participated in 230 Euroleague games before winning his first trophy! Only one other player - Kerem Gonlum - has played more (232) and is yet to win.

Real Madrid waited 20 years to regain the European crown, but it isn't the longest drought ever. Maccabi Tel Aviv also had 20 years of waiting (1981-2001), and CSKA Moscow had waited 35 years (1971-2006).

Gustavo Ayon is the second Mexican player to become European champion. Manuel Raga did so three times with Varese before Ayon was even born – in 1970, 1972 and 1973.