Fans, media chose decade's best!
Euroleague Basketball is proud to announce that fans and media experts from around the continent have chosen 10 great champions and superstars to make up the Euroleague All-Decade Team: Dejan Bodiroga, Dimitris Diamantidis, J. R. Holden, Sarunas Jasikevicius, Trajan Langdon, Juan Carlos Navarro, Theo Papaloukas, Anthony Parker, Ramunas Siskauskas, Nikola Vujcic. Voting that took place throughout the Top 16 included fans worldwide who cast more than 125,000 ballots and 1.25 million total votes on-line as well as 35 media experts who followed the Euroleague all decade in every country that has teams in the competition. Tabulations were made using 75% of the choices made by the media experts and 25% of the choices made by fans. The media and the fans coincided on four of the players on the team. Of the 10 players selected, the fans had seven of them in their top 12. All 10 members of the Euroleague All-Decade Team have won the competition title at least once, with nine of the players having been champion two or more times. Five players on the list were full-season MVPs, some of whom are also among the five Final Four MVPs included. The 10 players selected had previously been named to the All-Euroleague teams a total of 20 times, 15 on the first team and 5 on the second team. They also made a total of 42 Final Four appearances between them. Congratulations to the winners, to all the 50 nominees and to both the fans and media for their participation in naming the Euroleague All-Decade Team!
Dejan Bodiroga
Dimitris Diamantidis
J.R. Holden
Saras Jasikevicius
Trajan Langdon
The most dominant player to start the decade, Bodiroga earned every imaginable accolade – including back-to-back Euroleague titles as Final Four MVP with Panathinaikos in 2002 and Barcelona in 2003 – before retiring as a legend in 2007.
A game-changing performer even without the ball, Diamantidis has owned the Best Defender Award since joining the Euroleague in 2004 and anchored Panathinaikos title teams in 2007 and 2009, the former as Final Four MVP.
A great scorer, lockdown defender and leader, Holden has been the steadiest of superstars all decade. His seven consecutive Final Fours with CSKA tie a record, while Euroleague titles in 2006 and 2008 assure his place among the elite.
His titles with Barcelona in 2003, Maccabi in 2004 and 2005 - the latter as Final Four MVP - and Panathinaikos in 2009 make Jasikevicius the decade's most-crowned player and the first ever to win with three different teams.
A shooting superstar and rock-solid winner, Langdon lifted the continental trophy with CSKA in 2006 and 2008, when he was chosen Final Four MVP. He played in five title games and was selected All-Euroleague three times.
Juan Carlos Navarro
Theo Papaloukas
Anthony Parker
Nikola Vujcic
A favorite son who helped seize Barcelona's first, long-awaited crown in 2003, Navarro has since become an All-Euroleague selection twice, the 2009 MVP and the decade's fourth-ranked player in points, three-pointers and performance rating.
Arguably the most accomplished sixth man in pro basketball history, Papaloukas reached seven straight Final Fours, won the 2006 and 2008 titles with CSKA, was named 2007 MVP and ranks first for the decade in assists and steals.
As back-to-back champion with Maccabi in 2004 and 2005, Parker dominated the competition while twice being voted the Euroleague MVP and once the Final Four MVP. He posted the best per-game performance rating all decade.
Three finals appearances in his first five Euroleague seasons led to Siskauskas winning rare back-to-back titles with two different teams, Panathinaikos in 2007 and CSKA in 2008, the season in which he was also named Euroleague MVP.
The most versatile of big men, Vujcic reached four finals, won the 2004 and 2005 titles with Maccabi, and was voted All-Euroleague five times. He also authored the decade's only triple-doubles and ranks first in overall performance rating.