Superbasket names Garbajosa 'Mister Europa'

Jan 03, 2007 by Print
Jordi Bertomeu and Jorge Garbajosa, MVP December 05 Euroleague Jorge Garbajosa has been elected "Mister Europa 2006" by a panel of journalists at the Italian weekly magazine "Superbasket". The 29-year old Spanish power forward was an All-Euroleague selection twice this decade, most recently making last season's second team. He is currently a rookie-of-the-year candidate in his first NBA season with the Toronto Raptors. Garbajosa won the 31th edition of the prestigious award by beating out Euroleague Final Four MVP Theo Papaloukas (Greek point guard, CSKA Moscow), Dirk Nowitzki (German forward, Dallas Mavericks, 2005 winner), Pau Gasol (Spanish center, Memphis Grizzlies) and Tony Parker (French point guard, San Antonio Spurs). In the 2005-06 season, Garbajosa won the Spanish League title with Unicaja Malaga, and was selected as MVP of the playoff finals. Then, he led Spain to the gold medal at World Championships in Japan with a double-double of 20 points and 10 rebounds in the final game against Greece.

Superbasket "Mister Europa" roll of honor

1976 Pierluigi Marzorati (Italy)
1997 Drazen Dalipagic (Yugoslavia)
1978 Drazen Dalipagic (Yugoslavia)
1979 Vladimir Tkachenko (USSR)
1980 Dino Meneghin (Italy)
1981 Dragan Kikanovic (Yugoslavia)
1982 Dragan Kicanovic (Yugoslavia)
1983 Dino Meneghin (Italy)
1984 Juan Antonio San Epifanio (Spain)
1985 Arvidas Sabonis (USSR)
1986 Drazen Petrovic (Yugoslavia)
1987 Nikos Galis (Greece)
1988 Sarunas Marciulonis (USSR)
1989 Vlade Divac (Yugoslavia)
1990 Toni Kukoc (Yugoslavia)
1991 Toni Kukoc (Yugoslavia)
1992 Toni Kukoc (Croatia)
1993 Drazen Petrovic (Croatia)
1994 Aleksandar Djordjevic (Yugoslavia)
1995 Aleksandar Djordjevic (Yugoslavia)
1996 Toni Kukoc (Croatia)
1997 Arvidas Sabonis (Lithuania)
1998 Predrag Danilovic (Yugoslavia)
1999 Andrea Meneghin (Italy)
2000 Gregor Fucka (Italy)
2001 Predrag Stojakovic (Yugoslavia)
2002 Predrag Stojakovic (Yugoslavia)
2003 Sarunas Jasikevicius (Lithuania)
2004 Pau Gasol (Spain)
2005 Dirk Nowitzki (Germany)
2006 Jorge Garbajosa (Spain)