Navarro becomes Euroleague's all-time leading scorer

Nov 24, 2011 by Print
Juan Carlos Navarro - FC Barcelona RegalF.C. Barcelona Regal superstar Juan Carlos Navarro on Thursday night became the all-time leading scorer since the Euroleague was founded in 2000! Navarro’s left-handed layup off a Chuck Eidson steal at 5:30 of the third quarter of the Turkish Airlines Euroleague game against Union Olimpija at Palau Blaugrana in Barcelona gave him the record of 2,716 career points, previously held by recently-retired Marcus Brown. And with plenty of time left in this game and the season, he will keep adding to the record every time he takes the court. Navarro, 31, has played his entire 11-season Euroleague career with his hometown club, F.C. Barcelona. Already a legend of the game, “La Bomba” adds this record to an impressive career haul of achievements. He is a two-time Euroleague champion and was the 2008-09 Euroleague MVP and the 2010 Euroleague Final Four MVP. All told Navarro has played in five Euroleague Final Fours and been named to the All-Euroleague First Team a record five times.

With plenty of spring still in Navarro’s legs, the scoring record is likely not the last that he will chop down. Navarro ranks among the Euroleague’s career top 10 in several other statistical categories, including performance index rating, free throws made, assists, steals, and both minutes and games played. He is closest in three-pointers, where he is now second with 279 triples and trails former teammate Gianluca Basile of Bennet Cantu by 9.

A player of remarkable consistency, Navarro has not been held scoreless in a game since 2006. He has averaged double figures in points in each of his Euroleague seasons. Outside of the Euroleague, Navarro has helped Barcelona to six Spanish League titles, five Spanish King’s Cups and the 1999 Korac Cup. He is also a lynchpin for the Spanish national team, with whom he has won the 2006 World Championships and the 2009 and 2011 EuroBasket crowns. He was also named tournament MVP in the latter. Additionally he has collected a silver medal at the 2008 Olympic Games, silvers at EuroBasket 2003 and 2007 and bronze medals at EuroBasket 2001 and 2005.