May 20, 2018 by Print

...Real Madrid has won its 10th EuroLeague title, which is the most all-time. Madrid won the competition in 1964, 1965, 1967, 1968, 1974, 1978, 1980, 1995 and 2015.

...Madrid lifted 16th continental trophy – also an all-time record! In addition to its 10 EuroLeague titles, Madrid has won four Saporta Cups, one Korac Cup and one ULEB Cup.

…head coach Pablo Laso won his second EuroLeague title! He is the third Spanish coach to win multiple EuroLeague titles, after Pedro Ferrandiz (1965, 1967, 1968, 1974 Real Madrid) and Lolo Sainz (1978, 1980 Real Madrid).

...six Madrid players – Felipe Reyes, Gustavo Ayon, Facundo Campazzo, Sergio Llull, Rudy Fernandez and Jaycee Carroll – have won their second EuroLeague title! Reyes and Fernandez belong to an exclusive club of EuroLeague, EuroCup, FIBA World Cup and EuroBasket winners – only Dejan Tomasevic managed to win all these titles, too.

Fernandez, Llull and Reyes have joined another exclusive list of multiple EuroLeague winners. The only Spanish player with two EuroLeague titles in the last 35 years was Juan Carlos Navarro (FC Barcelona 2003, 2010) – until Fernandez, Llull and Reyes joined him!

...Walter Tavares is the first player from Cape Verde to win the EuroLeague.

...Jeffery Taylor is the first Swedish player to win the EuroLeague.

Luka Doncic is the first Slovenian player to win the EuroLeague title since Erazem Lorbek and Jaka Lakovic lifted the trophy with FC Barcelona in 2010.

Doncic has joined a list of players who won the EuroLeague MVP and the EuroLeague Final Four MVP awards? Anthony Parker, Vassilis Spanoulis, Juan Carlos Navarro, Dimitris Diamantidis, Theo Papaloukas and Nando De Colo won both awards during their careers.