Anadolu Efes Istanbul's Final Four facts

May 20, 2021 by Print
Anadolu Efes Istanbul's Final Four facts

...Efes has reached the Final Four for the fourth time? Efes previously reached the EuroLeague Final Four in 2000 and 2019 as well as the SuproLeague Final Four in 2001.

...Efes can become the second Turkish team to win the EuroLeague? Fenerbahce Istanbul was the first to do so in 2017.

...Efes became the first Turkish team in any sport to win a European competition? It lifted the Korac Cup in 1996 and now looks for its first EuroLeague crown 25 years later.

...Efes returns to the Final Four with 11 players and the coach who reached the 2019 EuroLeague Championship Game? Brock Motum is the only player that is not with the team two years later. He was replaced by Chris Singleton.

...Bryant Dunston and Vasilije Micic head to their third Final Fours? Dunston played at his first Final Four with Olympiacos in 2015 and Micic at the 2018 Final Four with Zalgiris. They both went to the 2019 Final Four with Efes.

Coach Ergin Ataman

...Ergin Ataman can win his fourth different continental title? He won the Saporta Cup with Montepaschi Siena in 2002, the EuroChallenge with Besiktas Istanbul in 2012, and the 7DAYS EuroCup with Galatasaray Istanbul in 2015. Only two coaches have won four different European competitions: Dusan Ivkovic (EuroLeague, EuroCup, Saporta, Korac) and Aito Garcia Reneses (EuroCup, Saporta, Korac, EuroChallenge).

Ergin Ataman, Galatasaray Odeabank Istanbul is Eurocup Champ 2015-16 - Eurocup Finals 2016 - EB15

...Coach Ataman can become the third coach to win European competitions with four different teams? He won titles with Siena, Besiktas and Galatasaray. Zeljko Obradovic has won European titles with six different teams: Partizan Belgrade, Joventut Badalona, Benetton Treviso, Real Madrid, Panathinaikos Athens, and Fenerbahce. Ivkovic (Partizan, AEK Athens, Olympiacos Piraeus, Dynamo Moscow) and Bozidar Maljkovic (Split, Limoges, Panathinaikos, Unicaja Malaga) have won with four teams apiece.

The Efes guards

...Shane Larkin owns the Turkish Airlines EuroLeague Championship Game scoring record in the Final Four era? Larkin scored 29 points in the 2019 championship game for Efes in a losing effort against CSKA.

...Larkin ranks sixth all-time in points scored at a single Final Four? He had 59 points in the 2019 Final Four - the most by any player in 25 years. Nikos Galis had 69 points in the 1990 Final Four and also scored 67 in 1988 and 61 in 1989, all with Aris. Bob McAdoo, who had 64 points in the 1988 Final Four with Milan, and Alexander Volkov, who got 61 with Panathinaikos in 1994, are also ahead of him.

Shane Larkin - Anadolu Efes Istanbul - Final Four Vitoria-Gasteiz 2019 - EB18_9ocpejxf33mktaqf

...Larkin is the shortest player at this season's Final Four at 1.82 meters?

...Vasilije Micic has scored 618 points this season - the second most of a player in EuroLeague history? Alexey Shved scored 740 points for Khimki Moscow Region in the 2017-18 campaign.

...Micic also leads the 2020-21 EuroLeague in fouls drawn (180), free throws made (132) and attempted (153)?

...Krunoslav Simon is one of only four players with more than 2,000 points, 700 rebounds and 600 assists in EuroLeague history? Rudy Fernandez, Dimitris Diamantidis and Nick Calathes are the others.

Krunoslav Simon - Anadolu Efes Istanbul Media Day 2020 - EB20

...Rodrigue Beaubois ranks seventh in three-point shooting percentage this season? He has made 68 of 139 attempts until now - 48.9%. Beaubois is also ninth in free throw shooting percentage (92.5%).

The Efes bigs

...Tibor Pleiss is the tallest player in this year's Final Four at 2.21 meters? Pleiss grew up in Cologne and is the only local player at the 2021 Final Four!

...Pleiss can become the first German player to win the EuroLeague in nearly two decades? Only three German players have won the EuroLeague title - Christian Welp with Olympiacos in 1997, Michael Koch with Panathinaikos in 2000 and Patrick Femerling in 2003.

...Dunston is one of the three EuroLeague Best Defender Trophy winners present at the 2021 Final Four? Dunston won it in 2014 and 2015. Kyle Hines of Milan (2016, 2018) and Adam Hanga of Barcelona (2017) also won the award in the past.

Bryant Dunston - Anadolu Efes Istanbul Media Day 2020 - EB20_avvhqpv6swf5saeb

...Dunston is the EuroLeague's all-time leader in blocked shots - 273 and counting! He is also 10th in rebounds at 1,144.

...Sertac Sanli ranks fifth all-time in two-point shooting percentage - 67.8%. Sanli has made 141 of his 208 two-point shots in 65 EuroLeague career games.