FC Barcelona's Final Four facts

May 21, 2021 by Euroleague.net Print
FC Barcelona's Final Four facts

...Barcelona will compete in its 15th Final Four? Only CSKA Moscow (19) has more appearances in the Final Four era, which began in 1988.

...Barcelona is headed to its first Final Four since 2014? This is the longest gap between appearances in club history.

...Barcelona is looking for its third EuroLeague title? It previously lifted the trophy in 2003 and 2010 and lost championship games in 1984, 1990, 1991, 1996 and 1997.

Coach Sarunas Jasikevicius

...Sarunas Jasikevicius has a chance to become the fourth person to win the EuroLeague as a player and coach? Jasikevicius won four EuroLeague titles as a player. Armenak Alachachan, Lolo Sainz and Svetislav Pesic are the only three members of this exclusive club.

Sarunas Jasikevicius - FC Barcelona, champ Final Four 2003 - EB02

...Coach Jasikevicius is still the only player to win the EuroLeague with three different teams? Jasikevicius lifted the trophy with Barcelona in 2003, Maccabi Tel Aviv in 2004 and 2005, and Panathinaikos Athens in 2009. Kyle Hines and Sergio Rodriguez will join in in this list if Milan wins the 2021 EuroLeague crown.

Barcelona's bigs

...Pau Gasol is back at the EuroLeague Final Four 21 years after his first appearance? No other player has ever gone so long between appearances.

...Gasol has a chance to become the second player to win the EuroLeague, NBA, EuroBasket and World Cup titles? Only Toni Kukoc managed to win them all, with Chicago, Jugoplastika Split and the former Yugoslavia national team, respectively.

...Nikola Mirotic leads the 2020-21 EuroLeague in PIR per 40 minutes (30.6)?

Nikola Mirotic - FC Barcelona - Media Day 2020 - EB20

...Mirotic has been chosen as MVP of the month a EuroLeague record five times? He won the award in December 2011, October 2013, December 2019, February 2020 and March 2021. Calathes (November 2017, March 2018) and Davies (April 2017) have also won the award in the past.

...Rolands Smits can become the first Latvian player to win the EuroLeague in the Final Four era? ASK Riga won three EuroLeague titles from 1958 to 1960, but no Latvian player has lifted the trophy since the restoration of Latvian Independence in 1991.

...other Barcelona players with previous Final Four experience are Nikola Mirotic (2011, 2013, 2014 Real Madrid), Brandon Davies (2018 Zalgiris), Adam Hanga (2016 Baskonia) and Victor Claver (2016 Lokomotiv Kuban)?

Barcelona's guards

...Nick Calathes is one of 17 players to win the EuroLeague and the 7DAYS EuroCup titles? He won the EuroLeague with Panathinaikos in 2011 and the EuroCup with Lokomotiv Kuban Krasnodar in 2013. Jeff Brooks and Vlado Micov will join this exclusive club if Milan wins the title.

...Calathes can join an elite group of Greek players to win the EuroLeague with a foreign team? That list includes Nestoras Kommatos (Maccabi 2005), Theo Papaloukas (CSKA 2006, 2008), Nikos Zisis (CSKA 2008), Ioannis Bourousis (Real 2015) and Kostas Sloukas (Fenerbahce 2017).

...Calathes ranks second all-time in assists with 1,519? Vassilis Spanoulis leads the standings with 1,607 assists. Calathes is also second in steals (336), right behind Dimitris Diamantidis (434).

Nick Calathes - FC Barcelona - Media Day 2020 - EB20

...Cory Higgins heads to his fifth consecutive Final Four? Only three other players have been to each of the last five Final Fours - Kyle Hines, Luigi Datome and Nikita Kurbanov.

...Higgins can win his third EuroLeague title? He previously lifted the trophy with CSKA in 2016 and 2019. No player ever has won the EuroLeague with both CSKA and Barcelona.

...Kyle Kuric leads the 2020-21 EuroLeague in three-point shooting? Kuric has made 66 of 111 three-point shots (59.5%) so far. The EuroLeague record for three-point accuracy in a single season is 60%, set by Pawel Wiekiera with Idea Slask in 2002-03.

...Adam Hanga is one of the three former EuroLeague Best Defenders at the 2021 Final Four? Hanga won the trophy in 2017. Kyle Hines of Milan (2016, 2018) and Bryant Dunston of Efes (2014, 2015) have also won the award in the past.

...Hanga can become the first Hungarian player to win the EuroLeague title? Kornel David came closest when he reached the championship game with Tau Ceramica in 2005.

...Alex Abrines is the only Barcelona player who has been in the team's last two Final Four appearances? Abrines is in his third Final Four with Barcelona.