Final Fours 1988-2011: a timeline

Mar 13, 2012 by Print
Click on each season to see scores, statistics, stories and interviews from the first quarter-century of Final Four drama!
PanathinaikosDimitris Diamantidis capped his trophy sweep - Euroleague MVP, Best Defender and Final Four MVP - by pushing Panathinaikos to a 70-78 final victory over Maccabi.
Barcelona, 2011
FC BarcelonaRegal FC Barcelona downed Olympiacos 86-68 in the title game in Paris. Juan Carlos Navarro was named Final Four MVP after leading the charge with 21 points.
PanathinaikosPanathinaikos lifted its second crown in three years by beating defending champ CSKA 73-71 in one of the most exciting title games in basketball history.
CSKA MoscowCSKA Moscow downed Maccabi Elite 77-91 to claim the 2008 Euroleague title – its sixth continental crown. Trajan Langdon had 21 points and was named Final Four MVP.
PanathinaikosIn one of the best Euroleague finals ever, Panathinaikos edged CSKA Moscow 93-91 in Athens. Final Four MVP Dimitris Diamantidis scored 15 points at O.A.K.A.
CSKA MoscowCSKA Moscow won the Euroleague crown for the first time in 35 years with a 73-69 victory over reigning champs Maccabi in the continental title game in Prague.
Maccabi Tel AvivMaccabi became the first team to repeat as Euroleague champ since 1991 by downing Tau Ceramica 90-78 in the Euroleague final. Sarunas Jasikevicius earned MVP honors.
Maccabi Tel AvivBasketball fever swept through Tel Aviv in 2004 as Maccabi Elite set 11 records in a memorable 118-74 win over Skipper Bologna. Anthony Parker was the Final Four MVP.
FC BarcelonaBarcelona had lost 5 Euroleague finals in the previous 20 years, and managed to lift its first trophy in its own city, topping Benetton 76-65 in the title game.
PanathinaikosPanathinaikos rallied to defeat Kinder 83-89 in Bologna. Dejan Bodiroga and Ibrahim Kutluay led the Greens to a third title. It was coach Zeljko Obradovic's fifth trophy.
Virtus BolognaWhile Kinder Bologna won the 2001 Euroleague, downing Tau Ceramica 3-2 in a playoff, Maccabi beat Panathinaikos at the SuproLeague Final Four.
PanathinaikosPanathinaikos defeated Maccabi 73-67 with a big performance by Zeljko Rebraca (MVP) with 20 points and 8 boards. It was the Greens' second continental crown.
Zalgiris KaunasZalgiris, led by a young Tyus Edney and a veteran Anthony Bowie, managed to dethrone defending champion Kinder Bologna by 82-74 in the final in Munich, Germany.
Virtus BolognaKinder Bologna survived a low-scoring, intense final to beat AEK Athens 58-44 and get its first Euroleague trophy. Antoine Rigaudeau led the way with 14 points.
OlympiacosIn a great final marked by the great performance of Final Four MVP David Rivers (26 points), Olympiacos beat Barcelona 73-58 to get its first European title.
PanathinaikosGreek basketball finally claim its first continental title at a club level, thanks to a dramatic win by Panathinaikos over Barcelona at the Final Four in Paris.
Real MadridArvydas Sabonis led Madrid to its eighth continental crown. Madrid defeated Olympiacos 73-61 in the title game in Zaragoza with 23 points from Sabonis.
DKV JoventutA late three-pointer by Corny Thompson allowed Joventut to beat Olympiacos 59-57 in the 1994 Euroleague final, claiming its first Euroleague title in Tel Aviv, Israel.
LimogesIn one of the biggest surprises ever in European club basketball, CSP Limoges downed Real Madrid and Benetton to win the 1993 Euroleague title in Athens.
PartizanPartizan won its first Euroleague title by topping Joventut 71-70 on a game-winning, running three-pointer by Sasha Djordjevic almost at the buzzer.
KK SplitPop 84 Split won its third consecutive title - only ASK Riga (1958-60) had managed to do it. Split, led by Toni Kukoc, beat Barcelona 70-65 in the title game in Paris.
KK SplitIn one of the most intense finals ever, Jugoplastika downed FC Barcelona 72-67 to keep the Euroleague trophy. Final Four MVP Toni Kukoc had 20 points to lead the way.
KK SplitJugoplastika Split won its first Euroleague title in 1989, downing heavy favourites Barcelona and Maccabi to lift the trophy in Munich. Dino Radja was chosen as MVP.
Philips MilanoPhilips Milano successfully defended its continental crown, downing Maccabi Elite 90-84 in the final in Ghent, Belgium behind 25 points from Final Four MVP Bob McAdoo.