Final Four MVP: Will Clyburn, CSKA Moscow

May 19, 2019 by Print

Will Clyburn of CSKA Moscow walked off with the Final Four MVP award on Sunday after his team downed Anadolu Efes Istanbul 83-91 for the Turkish Airlines EuroLeague title on Sunday in Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain.

Clyburn won the vote of the hundreds of media members at the Final Four after scoring 20 points in the championship game to go with the 18 he tallied when CSKA dethroned last season's champion, Real Madrid, in the semifinal on Friday. His 38 points tied for CSKA's highest total over the weekend.

Clyburn did much of his damage from three-point distance, hitting 7 of 10 shots from behind the arc, leading CSKA's sharpshooters for the weekend. He also tied for the team lead with 10 rebounds total between the two games.

Clyburn is playing in his third EuroLeague season and second with CSKA. He was voted by fans and media to the All-EuroLeague First Team and received that award on the eve of the championship game. He finished the season averaging 13.6 points per game to go with team-high averages of 6.8 rebounds and 17.5 performance index rating.

CSKA won its fourth EuroLeague title in 14 years. Clyburn follows the club's Final Four MVPs from the three previous titles: Theo Papaloukas in 2006, Trajan Langdon in 2008 and Nando De Colo in 2016.

Clyburn gave a lot of credit to his head coach, Dimitris Itoudis, upon receiving the Final Four MVP trophy.

"I've come a long way; I'm grateful to be here. Coach believed in me, and he trusts me. He trusts in my game and my experience. He's led me in the right direction," Clyburn said. "Everybody was together today, every possession we knew what we needed to do, and we stayed together all 40 minutes. We had lots of ups and downs this season, and each one of them was very important for our growth and our belief."

Belgrade 2018, Luca Doncic, Real Madrid Istanbul 2017, Ekpe Udoh, Fenerbahce Istanbul
Berlin 2016, Nando De Colo, CSKA Moscow Madrid 2015, Andres Nocioni, Real Madrid
Milan 2014, Tyrece Rice, Maccabi Tel Aviv London 2013, Vassilis Spanoulis, Olympiacos Piraeus
Istanbul 2012, Vassilis Spanoulis, Olympiacos Piraeus Barcelona 2011, Dimitris Diamantidis, Panathinaikos Athens
Paris 2010, Juan Carlos Navarro, Regal FC Barcelona Berlin 2009, Vassilis Spanoulis, Panathinaikos Athens
Madrid 2008, Trajan Langdon, CSKA Moscow Athens 2007, Dimitris Diamantidis, Panathinaikos Athens
Prague 2006, Theo Papaloukas, CSKA Moscow Moscow 2005, Sarunas Jasikevicius, Maccabi Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv 2004, Antony Parker, Maccabi Tel Aviv Barcelona 2003, Dejan Bodiroga, FC Barcelona