Game Selector
2004-05Final FourFinal
Maccabi, 2005 champ in Moscow

Final: Maccabi wins back-to-back crowns!

Maccabi Elite Tel Aviv wrote a brilliant new page in European club history by downing Tau Ceramica 90-78 in the Euroleague Final in front of a sellout crowd of 13,500 in the Olympiyski Arena, Moscow. Maccabi kept the Euroleague title for the first time since Split won three in a row from 1989 to 1991. Sarunas Jasikevicius led the winners in yet another unforgottable perfomance: 22 points, 6 rebounds and 5 assists, enough to be chosen as the Final Four MVP. Maceo Baston added 18 points on 8-for-12 shooting, Nestoras Kommatos became a main factor with 13 points off the bench, Nikola Vujcic also had 13 and 7 assists while Anthony Parker added 12 for the back-to-back Euroleague champion. Luis Scola led Tau with 21 points and 9 rebounds, Jose Manuel Calderon added 16 while Arvydas Macijauskas and Travis Hansen each had 13. Tau trailed 62-60 late in the third quarter but Jasikevicius led a 7-0 run that sealed the outcome, 78-66, midway through the final period, allowing a sea of yellow fans to celebrate that their team remained as the best club in Europe!

Panathinaikos needed one of the biggest comebacks in Final Four history to finish third by edging CSKA 91-94 in double overtime at Olympiysky Arena. Panathinaikos rallied from a 22-point deficit to get a prestigious win behind 28 points from Mike Batiste. Dimitris Diamantidis, the Euroleague's Best Defender Trophy winner, made a steal and layup with the game tied late in the second overtime to save the victory for Panathinaikos. Ibrahim Kutluay had 19 points for the Greens. Marcus Brown had 21 points for CSKA, Demos Dikoudis 17, David Andersen 14. Theo Papaloukas dunked off a midcourt steal by J.R. Holden to send the game to overtime, 78-78. Free throws made and missed meant the overtime ended in a tie, too, at 84-84, before Panathinaikos finished off its comeback in the second.

Leaders Final
Index Rating