Game Selector
2007-08Final FourFinal
CSKA Moscow champ - Final Four Madrid 2008 - EB07

Final: CSKA Moscow lifts Euroleague trophy again!

CSKA Moscow has won its fifth Euroleague title! CSKA became the second winningest team in European club competition and won its second Euroleague title in three years - its sixth overall after previous wins 1961, 1963, 1969, 1971 and 2006 - by downing Maccabi Elite Tel Aviv 77-91 in the final at the state-of-the-art Community of Madrid Sports Palace in the Spanish capital. Trajan Langdon was named Final Four MVP after posting 21 points on 4-of-5 three-point shooting and 7 rebounds to lead six CSKA scorers in double figures in victory. Head coach Ettore Messina won his fourth Euroleague title, moving into a tie for second place all-time with legends Pedro Ferrandiz, Alexander Gomelskiy and Bozidar Maljkovic, all of whom trail only Zeljko Obradovic of Panathinaikos. J.R. Holden added 14 points while Matjaz Smodis, David Andersen and freshly crowned Euroleague MVP Ramunas Siskauskas scored 13 points apiece. Will Bynum paced Maccabi with 23 points. A 0-10 run in the fourth quarter sealed the outcome.

Montepaschi Siena finished the 2007-08 Euroleague season with a smile by downing Tau Ceramica 97-93 in overtime in the Third Place game, played right before the Grand Final. The Third Place game lived up to its own tradition, being an exciting, fun-to-watch showdown. Ksistof Lavrinovic paced Montepaschi with 19 points and Terrell McIntyre shined with 16 points and a new Euroleague Final Four record 12 assists. Pete Mickeal led Tau with 16 points and 10 rebounds while Pablo Prigioni dished 11 assists. A free throw by Lavrinovic tied the game with 4.7 seconds left in regulation and forced overtime. An early 9-0 run in the extra period put Montepaschi ahead for good, as Tau did not recover down the stretch.

Leaders Final
Index Rating