Game Selector
2011-12Final FourFinal
Olympiacos repeats as champion

Olympiacos Piraeus is the new champ!

In a game for the ages, Olympiacos Piraeus came from 19 down in the third quarter to stun CSKA Moscow 61-62 and become the 2012 Turkish Airlines Euroleague champion. Georgios Printezis’s floater with 0.7 seconds left won it for the Reds, who become European champions for the second time in competition history. Olympiacos also won in 1997, also under head coach Dusko Ivkovic. A brilliant game at both ends by Kostas Papanikolaou led the new champs with 18 points. Vassilis Spanoulis added 15 points and Printezis had 12. CSKA led 53-34 in the third quarter and seemed well on its way to victory, but a 14-point run brought the Reds back and they stayed close until the end. The turning point came when former MVP Ramunas Siskauskas missed twice from the line with 9.7 seconds left and his team up 1. Olympiacos came down at the other end, got the ball to Printezis and the rest is history. Milos Teodosic paced CSKA with 15 points, Andrei Kirilenko posted 12 points and 10 rebounds and Nenad Krstic added 11 in defeat.

FC Barcelona Regal finished the Turkish Airlines Euroleague season in third place after holding off outgoing champion Panathinaikos 69-74 in the third-place game on Sunday afternoon at Sinan Erdem Arena in Istanbul. Marcelinho Huertas dominated early with 19 first-half points and then netted a pair of free throws in the final minute to seal the win. He finished with 21 – 2 points shy of his career high. The victory gives Barcelona a 19-2 record for the season. Joe Ingles matched his season high with 13 for the victors, and C.J. Wallace took advantage of extended minutes to score 12 and block 2 shots. Dimitris Diamantidis paced the Greens with 17 points, Aleks Maric was strong inside with 13 points and 11 rebounds and David Logan netted 11.