ECA board approves 2014-15 teams, steps toward comprehensive competition model

Jun 25, 2014 by Print
ECA board approves 2014-15 teams, steps toward comprehensive competition model
Board in Barcelona, June 2014

The Executive Board of Euroleague Commercial Assets, meeting in Barcelona on Wednesday, unanimously agreed to propose team lists for the upcoming 2014-15 season and also to recommend changes designed to reach a comprehensive competition model for European club basketball.

New licensing, competition structures

The board reviewed plans offered by Euroleague Basketball management that aim to ensure the continued growth and stability of the organization's competitions while offering clubs a clear route to their individual and collective development.

The board approved steps toward a consolidated club competitions structure that seeks to give all stakeholders - clubs, owners, sponsors, players, domestic leagues and fans alike - an easily understood framework that brings more long-term stability and fairness. The steps include reforming the licensing system of access to competitions.

To transition towards this model, a new system would enter in force for the 2015-16 season, which would replace the current country ranking that allocates B-Licences by guaranteeing fixed spots for domestic leagues to qualify for the Turkish Airlines Euroleague. An agreement would be sought between ECA and the domestic leagues on promoting, organizing and coordinating competitions to homogenize European professional basketball, creating a framework that would allow Euroleague Basketball and the domestic leagues to take the next steps towards an eventual European League model.

Both structures will be presented in detail to the ECA Shareholders Meeting for its approval.

Audience, economic growth continue to rise

In a season-end review, the Board also heard evidence of record increases in audience numbers across-the-board for the Turkish Airlines Euroleague. This audience increase was registered in every platform, from arena attendance to television, from online to mobile.

Audience growth was mirrored by end-of-year economic growth as Euroleague Basketball reported to the board an increase in net revenues of 8.7% as compared to the previous season. The better performance contributed to an economic distribution to Euroleague clubs that was 11.5% higher than last year, when there had been an increase, as well.

Euroleague Basketball's profit before taxes represented 7% of the company's revenues. The profit was 13.3% higher than the forecast at the start of the season.

2014-15 Bylaws Modifications

The board also heard about proposed changes in the competition bylaws, which expand on initiatives approved at its last meeting in March. The changes seek to enhance the fan experience through improved teams and product presentation as well as arena lighting requirements, among other modifications.

2014-15 Turkish Airlines Euroleague team list

The board's proposed team list for the Turkish Airlines Euroleague includes two teams that were replaced for being unable to fulfill the necessary requirements to participate. Cibona Zagreb was substituted by the next-best Adriatic League team, Crvena Zvezda Telekom Belgrade, and Italian League finalist Montepaschi Siena was replaced by the next-best team in the competition, Dinamo Banco di Sardegna Sassari. Additionally, the board will propose to the ECA shareholders that ALBA Berlin be awarded a one-year wild card to fill a vacant A-license. Finally, the executive board has accepted Budivelnik Kiev's offer to rescind its participation in the Turkish Airlines Euroleague Qualifying Rounds next season due to political uncertainty in Ukraine.

ALBA Berlin* Germany Finalist
Anadolu Efes Istanbul Turkey Quarterfinalist
Cedevita Zagreb Croatia ABA League Finalist
Crvena Zvezda Telekom Belgrade* Serbia ABA League Semifinalist
CSKA Moscow Russian Federation
Dinamo Banco di Sardegna Sassari* Italy Semifinalist
EA7 Emporio Armani Milan Italy Champion
Fenerbahce Ulker Istanbul Turkey Champion
FC Barcelona Spain Champion
FC Bayern Munich Germany Champion
Galatasaray Liv Hospital Istanbul Turkey Finalist
Laboral Kutxa Vitoria Spain Quarterfinalist
Limoges CSP France Champion
Maccabi Electra Tel Aviv Israel Champion
Nizhny Novgorod Russian Federation
Neptunas Klaipeda Lithuania Finalist
Olympiacos Piraeus Greece Finalist
Panathinaikos Athens Greece Champion
PGE Turow Zgorzelec Poland Champion
Real Madrid Spain Finalist
Unicaja Malaga Spain Semifinalist
Valencia Basket Club Spain Semifinalist
Zalgiris Kaunas Lithuania Champion
EL QRs Winner - -

ASVEL Lyon Metropole* France Quarterfinalist
CEZ Basketball Nymburk Czech Republic Champion
Hapoel Jerusalem* Israel Semifinalist
Stelmet Zielona Gora Poland Finalist
Strasbourg France Finalist
Telenet Ostend Belgium Champion
Unics Kazan* Russian Federation Semifinalist
VEF Riga Latvia Finalist

* One-year wildcard

All clubs must comply with the requirements contained within the Euroleague Club Licensing Rules, as well as those requirements that will be approved by the ECA Shareholders Meeting.