Nike IJT Belgrade Final Report: FMP 102-99 L. Rytas

Mar 30, 2008 by Print
FMP champion - Belgrade Junior Tournament 2008 KK FMP Zeleznik is the 2008 Nike Junior Tournament champion after a 102-99 triumph over Lietuvos Rytas in a memorable final full of exciting plays and endless intensity. L. Rytas earned respect from every spectator in FMP's arena with a display of unbelievable fighting spirit that sets an example to every team - senior or junior - out there. Andreja Milutinovic and Dejan Musli led the winners with 18 points each. Bojan Subotic and Nikola Vukasovic followed with 17 points each while Svetozar Stamenkovic had 12 points. For L. Rytas, Mantas Kadzevicius scored 19, Augustas Peciukevicius added 16, Devidas Nazarov hit 15 while Arnoldas Bertaius and Ovidijus Varanauskas scored 11 each. Musli dominated the paint on both ends in the starting minutes, which allowed FMP to take a small lead and finish the first quarter up 25-20. Peciukevicius, who was everywhere on court and caused havoc to FMP's defense, kept L. Rytas close, but not for long. Subotic and Vukasovic pushed the hosts to a 44-32 lead, that lasted until half time when the teams were eight points apart, 48-40. L. Rytas fought back and got its reward when Nazarov stepped up with big plays to give the guests a 69-70 lead, although FMP went back in front, 76-74, entering the final quarter. Each team gave its all as L. Rytas showed more intensity, picked key offensive rebounds and stayed close. With 2:26 to go, however, FMP held a 92-88 lead before big plays by Vukasovic helped make it 96-89 with less than 90 seconds on the clock. When it seemed the curtain wa about to go down on L. Rytas, the energetic Kadzevicius stole the ball and finished with a three-point play to make it just a two-point game, 96-94. Subotic showed his arsenal and winning spirit with a block, a pass to Musli and then a big finish to set the gap at four points again, 100-96 with 12.6 seconds on the clock. L. Rytas had one last chance, but big man Musli was accurate from the line to secure the win for FMP.