2008-09 Euroleague Draw results

Jul 08, 2008 by Euroleague.net Print
The 2008-09 Euroleague Draw saw 24 teams fill a new regular season format. Check out photos, calendar, reaction from club execs, coaches.

Euroleague Draw 2008-09 in BerlinThe 2008-09 Euroleague season marked its first event Tuesday as the regular season draw was held at The Postbahnhof in Berlin, Germany. A new competition system unveiled this week saw 24 teams drawn into four groups of six with last season's Final Four teams – champion CSKA Moscow, runner-up Maccabi Electra Tel Aviv, Montepaschi Siena and Tau Ceramica – serving as group leaders. The season will tip-off at the Fernando Buesa Arena in Vitoria, Spain, where Tau Ceramica will host the competition’s traditional opening game on October 20. The other 22 teams will begin their seasons the same week, on Wednesday, October 22 and Thursday, October 23. The regular season concludes on January 15, to be followed by the Top 16 (January 28 to March 12) and the expanded best-of-five Quarterfinal Playoffs (March 24 to April 8). The season culminates at the 2009 Final Four, to be held May 1 to 3 at the O2 World in Berlin, with the crowning of a Euroleague champion. Euroleague Basketball was proud to have as speakers at the draw Mr. Eduardo Portela, ULEB President; FIBA Europe president Giorgos Vasilakopoulos; and Detlef Kornett managing director AEG Germany. Drawing the balls to determine the groups were former Euroleague and world champion head coach Svetislav Pesic, German handball superstar Stephan Kretzschmar and German discus champion Robert Harting. The draw ceremony also recognized CSKA Moscow head coach Ettore Messina as the Alexander Gomelskiy Coach of the Year and Fernando Minucci of Montepaschi Siena as Executive of the Year, both as voted by their peers in the Euroleague. Awards were also giving for the best marketing efforts of the season, with a bronze award going to Fenerbahce Ulker Istanbul, represented by Ertug Silaim, a silver award going to Marco Baldi from Alba Berlin and the gold award going to Mr. Minucci and Montepaschi Siena.

Group A
Group B
Group C
Group D

REGULAR SEASON Game 1, (October 22-23, 2008)
Avellino vs. Olympiacos Piraeus
Unicaja vs. Le Mans Sarthe Basket
Cibona Zagreb vs. Maccabi Electra Tel Aviv
SLUC Nancy Basket vs. FC Barcelona
Panathinaikos vs. Zalgiris Zaunas
Montepaschi Siena vs. Prokom Trefl
Tau Ceramica vs. Fenerbahce Ulker
Alba Berlin vs. Virtus Roma
DKV Joventut vs. Union Olimpija
Real Madrid vs. Panionios On Telecoms
CSKA Moscow vs. Armani Jeans Milano
Efes Pilsen vs. Partizan Igokea