Club profile: Maccabi FOX Tel Aviv

Jul 19, 2019 by Print

Even though Maccabi FOX Tel Aviv missed the Turkish Airlines EuroLeague playoffs for the fourth consecutive season, there were many promising signs that Maccabi is ready to emerge from its slumber and ascend to the top of the continental ranks once again. Maccabi got out to a bad start in the EuroLeague regular season and lost seven of its first eight games. That led to a change on the bench and Ioannis Sfairopoulos was hired in place of Neven Spahija. The move worked; Maccabi began to play with more intensity and won nine of its next 11 games. Led by Tarik Black, Scottie Wilbekin and Alex Tyus - who earned EuroLeague MVP for January honors, Maccabi kept its playoffs chances alive until the regular-season finale, but a road loss at Fenerbahce Beko Istanbul saw Maccabi finish the stage in 10th place with a 14-16 record - just one win out of the playoff zone. In domestic competitions, Maccabi fell to Maccabi Rishon LeZion in the Israeli State Cup quarterfinals, but had its revenge in the Israeli League title game; Maccabi prevailed 89-75 at Menorah Mivtachim Arena and team captain John DiBartolomeo hoisted the club's 53rd league championship. DiBartolomeo led five Maccabi scorers in double figures with 15 points in the championship game. Expect Maccabi to try to reach even higher this season.


2018-19 EuroLeague 14-16 Regular Season
2017-18 EuroLeague 13-17 Regular Season
2016-17 EuroLeague 10-20 Regular Season
2015-16 EuroLeague 4-6 Regular Season
2014-15 EuroLeague 16-11 Playoffs
2013-14 EuroLeague 21-9 Champion
2012-13 EuroLeague 16-11 Playoffs
2011-12 EuroLeague 12-9 Playoffs
2010-11 EuroLeague 16-6 Runner-up
2009-10 EuroLeague 11-9 Playoffs
2008-09 EuroLeague 8-8 Top 16
2007-08 EuroLeague 18-7 Runner-up
2006-07 EuroLeague 13-10 Playoffs
2005-06 EuroLeague 17-8 Runner-up
2004-05 EuroLeague 20-4 Champion
2003-04 EuroLeague 17-5 Champion
2002-03 EuroLeague 11-9 Top 16
2001-02 EuroLeague 14-7 Semifinals
TOTAL: 423 251-172


2015-16 EuroCup 2-4 Last 32
TOTAL: 6 2-4

A signature team in European basketball, Maccabi enters every season aiming for greatness. Over the years, Maccabi has relied on the tried-and-true formula of complementing the best Israeli players with talented, committed stars from abroad. Players like Tal Brody, Miki Berkowitz, Motti Aroesti, Kevin Magee, Doron Jamchy, Earl Williams and Aulcie Perry and more recently Sarunas Jasikevicius, Anthony Parker and Nikola Vujcic belong to the elite of all-time European basketball greats. Maccabi won its first EuroLeague title in 1977 and did so again in 1981 with Berkowitz as the big star. Maccabi had to wait until 2001 to lift the SuproLeague trophy, which broke a string of five continental final appearances that ended the wrong way. The next title came soon after; Derrick Sharp’s miracle three-pointer in the spring of 2004 to survive the Top 16 has become one of the classic shots in basketball history. Then Maccabi turned to record breaking at the Final Four on its home turf with a 118-point championship game performance to batter Skipper Bologna. The next year Maccabi became the first team to repeat as EuroLeague champion since Split in 1991. Jasikevicius, Parker, Tal Burstein, Maceo Baston and Vujcic, coached by Pini Gershon, became a classic lineup in European basketball history. Maccabi got back to the EuroLeague championship game for the third year in a row in 2006, but CSKA stood in the way of a three-peat. CSKA remained a thorn in Maccabi’s side, downing Maccabi in the 2007 playoffs and 2008 championship game. A rebuilt Maccabi returned to the Final Four again in 2011, when it got past Real Madrid in the semifinal, but Panathinaikos prevailed in the championship game. After playoff losses in 2012 against Panathinaikos in a series for the ages and against Madrid a year later, a David Blatt-coached yellow-and-blue reversed the trend in 2013-14 with several dramatic late-season wins to climb to the top of Europe. Maccabi overcame CSKA Moscow in the semifinals and Real Madrid after overtime in the championship game to bring the trophy back to its passionate fans. A brilliant campaign also saw Maccabi win the Israeli League and Cup before Coach Blatt left. The team struggled to meet its normal standards in the seasons that followed, missing the EuroLeague playoffs in the last four. Maccabi was close to that goal the last two seasons, in which the team also recaptured the Israeli League championship after a three-year hiatus. Maccabi will have a whole country behind it in EuroLeague games and will be a strong opponent anywhere.

Trophy Case

Euroleague: 1977, 1981, 2004, 2005, 2014
Suproleague: 2001
Israeli National League: 53 titles; 1954, 1955, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1967, 1968, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2018, 2019
Israeli National Cup: 44 titles; 1956, 1958, 1959, 1961, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1994, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017
Adriatic League: 2012