EuroLeague, EuroCup stars claim The Basketball Tournament jackpot

Aug 07, 2019 by Print
EuroLeague, EuroCup stars claim The Basketball Tournament jackpot

While his team became the first of the 2018-19 Turkish Airlines EuroLeague to start training camp this week, David Lighty of LDLC ASVEL Villeurbanne was home in the United States playing for keeps on Tuesday.

Lighty had team highs of 17 points and 7 rebounds as a group of Ohio University alumni won The Basketball Tournament on Tuesday night in Chicago by defeating a team of Marquette University alumni 66-60.

Lighty's team, called Carmen's Crew, also got 11 points from Jon Diebler, who played in the EuroLeague for Darussafaka Tekfen Istanbul last season, and 7 from Aaron Craft, who will return to the 7DAYS Eurocup with Dolomiti Energia Trento of Italy next season.

Another EuroLeague player, DeShaun Thomas of Panathinaikos was on the team's roster, but did not play due to having been married during the three-week tournament. Their team, called Carmen's Crew, went undefeated over six games in that span and walked away with the $2 million first prize. A former EuroLeague star, Scoonie Penn, was the team's general manager.

This summer's sixth edition of The Basketball Tournament had 64 teams compete. The previous four editions were won by the team Overseas Elite, which featured such Euroleague Basketball players or alumni as Errick McCollum, DeAndre Kane, Jeremy Pargo, Travis Bader, Oliver Lafayette and Will McDonald.

Among this season's semifinalists was Team Hines, which featured current EuroLeague champion Kyle Hines of CSKA Moscow as well as runner-up Bryant Dunston of Anadolu Efes Istanbul, All-EuroLeague selection Nick Calathes of Panathinaikos OPAP Athens, Thomas Walkup of Zalgiris Kaunas, Aaron White of AX Armani Exchange Milan, Matt Lojeski of Tofas Bursa, last season's EuroLeague top scorer Mike James, and former EuroLeague champions Joey Dorsey and Ricky Hickman.