2010-20 All-Decade Team: Juan Carlos Navarro

Mar 17, 2020 by Euroleague.net Print

The next member of the 2010-20 EuroLeague All-Decade team as voted by fans, media, players and coaches is Juan Carlos Navarro, who had also been selected to the first all-decade team this century, too!

A relentless scorer, Navarro was the first player to break the 3,000- and 4,000-point barriers in EuroLeague history. The now-retired shooting guard remains the EuroLeague's all-time leader in three-point shots made with 623.

Another great decade

Navarro was already a superstar when the competition's second decade started. He played one of his best EuroLeague campaigns to start the decade, leading Barcelona to a 20-2 record in the 2009-10 season. That is still the highest winning rate (90.9%) of any team this century. Navarro finished the EuroLeague season in style, scoring 24 and 21 points in playoffs Games 3 and 4, respectively, on the court of Real Madrid to knock Barcelona's archrival from the playoffs. He followed that with 10 in Barcelona's semifinal win against CSKA Moscow and 21 in the championship-game victory over Olympiacos Piraeus, after which he was chosen the 2010 Final Four MVP. Navarro would play in three more Final Fours in the decade, from 2012 to 2014. He was chosen to All-EuroLeague First Team in 2009-10 and 2010-11, and to the Second Team in 2011-12 and 2012-13. He was also chosen MVP of the month in April 2010 and January 2011.

"The EuroLeague has helped me become a better player, no question about it. I feel privileged to have been able to win our club's two EuroLeague titles." October 13, 2016

The Numbers

Navarro recorded almost half of his career points (1,923) last decade. He dished 453 assists and ranked ninth with 317 three-point shots made despite retiring at the end of the 2017-18 season. He was the competition's top all-time scorer at the end of the decade, with 4,152 points. Vassilis Spanoulis passed him on January 2, 2020.

The Moment

Navarro was the first Spanish-born player in EuroLeague history to be voted Final Four MVP. He did that in 2010, when he became the only player to win the EuroLeague twice with Barcelona (2003, 2010). "La Bomba" exploded in Paris, leading Barcelona to an 86-68 victory over Olympiacos.